Home » fiction » Defining Luna’s Way

Defining Luna’s Way


Today, I posted the second part of a series I am writing for artifice comics. My mission is to create the world’s first bipolar superhero. To those affected by this dangerous and often, destructive mental health issue, the correlation of mental illness with superpowers may seem, at best, to lack credibilty. I, however, believe that bipolar disorder can encompass positive aspects.
There has been much discussion about the link between mental health issues and creativity. Employing the old chicken and egg analogy, one could ask which of these factors precedes the other. Whilst most people affected by mental health conditions are no more creative than the rest of the population, creative expression, undoubtedly helps heal and identify sources of distress. I, myself, employ writing as a means of self-expression and am frequently surprised by the nature and content of my writing and what it reveals about myself. Thus, for those feeling lost, but, still able to write, I say let it out in words.
To return to my superhero, she is female and gifted with perceptual abilities, which transcend even words. Omniscience is a power we would all, secretly, like to possess, but how would we apply it to our lives? The possibilities are endless and thus, are the tales I intend to tell. Goodness versus bad, happiness and the sad. If you are interested in reading my tales, part two of Luna’s Way, Our Friend Electro (convulsive treatment) can be read at, artificecomics.com/short-story-lu…or could follow me on twitter @shunterthompson or @artificecomics
I hope that Luna’s Way will be as much fun to read, as it has been to write. All fun, however, has a serious side. Tell every one to read it and watch the world become a better, bipolar place.

Leave a Reply

