Home » mental health » Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day


Today is Mothers Day, the day when British people celebrate and honour their Mothers. Thus, I present for you a poem about the complexities of a daughter’s love for her Mother.

DEAR
Mother, you personify the best and worst
Of nature’s universe.
You bore me naked
Then you covered me.
You proclaimed my existence to be serendipitous-
Until I ran out of luck.
You nurtured a seed
Which developed like a weed
Refusing to flower
Into a grown-up.
And, thus, I destroyed the bloom of my own exterior
In order to make me feel nearer to you
Than to being alone.
You filled my tears with smiles
Every cry presenting as need.
And, now, I inhale the air
Liking a choking mist
My existence shortened by each deadly hiss
Of lung penetration.
Mother, I like your soul
But, not your hair
I eat Mums, because I care.

Every Mothers Day, there will stand in my Mother’s house a vase of flowers bought by me. Love you, Mum. x

Leave a Reply

