Home » mental health » My Thoughts about Becoming a Published Novelist

My Thoughts about Becoming a Published Novelist


Discovering this week that my first novel has finally been published has elevated my spirits upon an air of equanimity. What, now that my destiny has been fulfilled, should I do next?
I shall endeavour to reinforce my belief that we all people deserve a platform for self expression. This, for some, may derive from their experience of producing a child or working for their community. For others self expression constitutes involvement in politics or the affirmation that others are listening to them. My own means of self expression has always been guided by the pen. For, even when rendered voiceless in psychiatric institutions I have managed to write. Although, the nature of my writing has, sometimes, withered under the strain of depression or hit the heights of florid over-expressiveness, it will always remain an authentic transposition of MY own psyche.
Having written a book I have challenged my debilitating sense of under-confidence and defeated the disease of lethargy, which like a cancer, has infected my ability to function, during the twenty years I have spent stoned on prescribed anti-psychotic medication. What ever the future holds I shall always write.

My novel is about the process of psychotic relapse; it depicts suffering from the inside out. Although it is not autobiographical it is informed by my own experiences and, like me, stands aside and laughs at the silly profundity of it own insights. Do not be too dismayed, I have, also, been told that it is very funny!

Out now, “THE GENERAL PARALYSIS OF SANITY,” by Louise M. Hart. Available from CHIPMUNKAPUBLISHING.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts about Becoming a Published Novelist

  1. I’m interested to hear about your journey to getting published. I just finished a memoir about being bipolar among other things, and I’d like to get it published, too. Thoughts? Advice?

  2. Thanks for liking my post. Like me, you could try CHIPMUNKAPUBLISHING. Although, I have written a novel, rather than a memoir, CHIPMUNKA are usually more into publishing memoirs by people who have experienced mental health probs, than novels. Good luck.
    Having read your blog it seems we share some afflictions i.e. cigarettes and Brian Wilson! You are welcome to send me a friend request on facebook.

Leave a Reply

